Skip to content

Breakfast in Bed

April 14, 2010

To me, there is nothing better (foodwise) than waking up starving and enjoying a hot cup of coffee with a wholesome, balanced, energy inducing breakfast. Many people advocate a fruit based breakfast…maybe I’ve been reading too much Skinny Bitch…. but I prefer to have a little sump’in to fill me up for as long as I can stand. I was never much of an oatmeal person after I got over my apples and cinnamon instant oatmeal kick at age 11. Recently, however, I discovered that it is an endless canvas for the ultimate healthy breakfast. Can’t wait to get back to the states to buy some steel cut or groats. I’ve been adding egg whites to my oats for extra protein and extra creaminess.

Egg White Oatmeal with Cinnamon, Banana and Goji Berries

*Technique for adding egg whites: once oatmeal thickens pour in 1-2 egg whites and stir constantly until fully cooked. Add toppings after eggs, and then crawl back into bed to watch Food Revolution and be shocked/inspired.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2010 4:57 pm

    Inspired by mouthwatering description and photo of your breakfast, I decided to give the egg whites a shot. I have to admit I was a little scared adding egg whites to my oatmeal this morning. MMMMM! Muy delicioso! I love how creamy it gets after adding the egg white and makes it a little thicker. It’s a great trick to thicken it up if by the time it’s cooked it’s still a little runny.
    I think oatmeal is definitely an acquired taste (well I used to literally gag when I was a kid just at the mere sight of oatmeal). I have grown to like and appreciate the oats, and I’ll definitely keep using the egg white recipe! Do Goji berries taste like cranberries BTW?

    • April 18, 2010 5:06 pm

      Yay!! So good! Mmm goji berries are like, way less delicious versions of cranberries (IMO). But way healthier. So I guess there’s a trade off but when I eat gojis I kind of force them down haha.

Leave a Reply

