Skip to content

Stuck Between a Rock and a Hard Place

April 14, 2010

Welcome!! I suppose I’ll start off with a little introduction.

As of today, April 12, 2010, I have exactly 10 weeks left of my year in China. This year has been a roller coaster–language barriers, culture shocks, travelling, new friends, teaching 13 classes of 60 students each, etc. However, the hardest loop of said roller coaster has undoubtedly been keeping up my usual diet and fitness regiment. I began the year thinking that Chinese food would be fine and I would adjust, but after some noticeable changes to my body, energy levels, and overall happiness, I realized that the typical Chinese diet is NOT for me. Excessive use of oil, lots of animal fat, white rice, no whole grains, no raw vegetables and heaps upon heaps of processed snacks.**** But without my convenient American health food markets and groceries stores I was at a loss. My diet consisted of eggs, corn, apples, bananas, protein powder sent from home, and carrots. SAD.

****Obviously this is just my biased personal experience. I know food here in China works for many people and I WISH it did for me, but sadly…womp.

Then there were the fruit shakes. On a trip to the Philippines I must have guzzled a hundred shakes made of anything from fruits, vegetables, soymilk, ice, young coconut water, nut butters, etc. It dawned on me that perhaps I wasn’t so lost in the world and maybe I could adopt a pretty sweet whole food diet if I just opened my eyes and got a little creative with what Chinese markets had to offer. Throughout this whole process I had to learn how to exercise without my beautiful gym and WITH some serious pollution. AND on top of everything else, I, the formerly bloody steak-loving carnivore, somehow became a vegetarian. More on that later. What you’re about to see is my attempt at a clean, healthy, whole food diet (in a country that doesn’t exactly mesh) in preparation for my return to normalcy!!! WOOOOOOO!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

