Skip to content

How It Should Be

April 18, 2010

One thing that I really really love about trying to come up with things to make in China is the availability of seasonal fruits and tons o’ veggies. There is a fruit stand just down the hill from my apartment that I hit up at least once a day and it’s always exciting when a new in season fruit pops up. YES I said it’s exciting. Fruits and vegetables in China are also NORMALLY priced, unlike the US where fresh produce can cost an arm and a leg. I bought everything in the photo below for the Chinese money (RMB) equivalent of $15.00. Crazy!

So Cheap!

Thats: A bag of almonds, eggs, tofu, mangoes, kiwi, carrots, onions, garlic, ginger, lemons, cauliflower, brocolli, bean sprouts, peppers, scallions, cilantro, corn and noodles for $15.00. Reverse sticker shock.

Most of this went towards a potluck at my apartment last night where I made coconut curry with peppers/sugar snap peas and Pad Thai…but cooking for other people made me crazy stressed so, alas, no photos. Katie brought Velveeta, Lucy brought Mashed potatoes, Micah and Rob brought Chinese takeout (hehe) and Jeff brought potatoes. AND Sarah, other Sarah, made brownies. I usually can’t drink when I’m feeling sluggish or out of shape, but since that situation has drastically improved in the past 2 months, I was able to drink the delicious apple vodka that Katie brought back from the Philippines. MMm that foreign feeling sure felt like home. Also gave me the motivation to trek out in the pouring rain to kill some Copacabana with Katie at karaoke.

Dinner tonight was 100% imported goods:

Wasa Crackers with Tuna, Rosemary and Emmental Cheese. Nuked.

Followed by a taste of summer:

Back to the Islands!!

Took me about 5 mangoes to finally figure out the correct way to cut them. Slice vertically going along the sides of the pit (on each side), then cut mango crosswise and lengthwise making sure to not go through the peel. Either stick your face in it and chow down, or cut away the pieces from the peel like a civilized person =).

5 Comments leave one →
  1. hungryinnewyork permalink
    April 18, 2010 2:20 pm

    This all looks super tasty. I’m kind of concerned for your well being tho seeing as a lot of chinese produce is made with biofuel — human fertilizer. I hope you stir fry the bejeus out of that stuff… Haha

  2. Michael permalink
    April 18, 2010 2:21 pm

    OMG, I totally murdered the first couple mangoes I tried to eat. I got like a few little pieces of normal looking mango and a whole bunch of mess. So now I stand it on end with the stem facing up and slice off as big a piece as I can from the two wide sides curving along the outside of the pulp. Then I get two more smaller pieces the same way from the other sides. Next I take one of the big pieces and make slices from top to bottom about 1/2 inch apart making sure not to go through the skin and do the same thing from side to side so you end up with a grid. Then push it inside out so the gridded pieces are sticking out and away from the inside of the skin. Eat. Yum.

  3. Michael permalink
    April 18, 2010 2:23 pm

    Wait. That’s kind of what you just said. Oh well.

    • April 18, 2010 2:35 pm

      Hahaha your description has way more detail though, much better than mine

  4. Barbara permalink
    April 18, 2010 3:31 pm

    Your photos are gorgeous as always! The banana pancakes look especially good! Can’t wait to eat out w/you in the Big Mango!

Leave a Reply

