Skip to content

Random Walking Thoughts

May 4, 2010

Wow.

Recently I’ve been loving The Biggest Loser. I had never seen it until about a week ago! That show is nuts. And by nuts I mean amazing and crazy inspiring. I’ll be honest I felt a sting in my eye at least two times in each episode and today it really got me thinking about motivation. What is it that motivates people to lose weight and subsequently stay healthy? I feel like it usually starts out with the same themes: Wanting a GF/BF, wanting to attract the opposite sex in general, wanting to do more activities with family members, HOPEFULLY getting healthy…or maybe shame? Everyone has their reason but the most successful people, it seems, are those who eventually shift their motivation inwards and are driven by the changes and improvements that they see/feel.
The overwhelming euphoria that the contestants experience when they step on the scale and see that they’ve lost 20-30 pounds in a week can make ANYone want to slurp down something super healthy and jet out for a run. When I needed to lose weight in college I would be really inspired when I could see positive changes in myself. Now when I eat something insanely healthy or have a great workout, all I can think about is how I can’t wait to do it all over again and see what results come of it, be it having a great creative outlet, a burst of energy or looser fitting pants. It’s literally like being high on life. This is not a new idea by any means, it just happened to be
going through my head during a long walk and The Shred.
Today was one of the more perfect and satisfying food days I’ve had in a while. Diverse and full of fruit, veggies and protein. Used a lot of imported products here …I think I’m going to try to start cutting down and use what I have at the local market to be creative….we’ll see.

Banana (Cinnamon) Almond Ice Cream with Raw Rolled Oats

Egg White Omelet with Fresh Basil

Chana Masala with Steamed Brocolli

I kind of made this on a whim so I didn’t really follow a recipe. Not sure if this is REAL Chana Masala but it worked for me.
Chana Masala:
4 cloves of garlic
1 small piece of fresh ginger
1 tsp cayenne pepper
1 tbsp cumin powder
1 tbsp curry powder
(homemade marinara sauce)
1 can chickpeas
handful of fresh cilantro
S&P

1. Sauté garlic and ginger in a big pan for about 1 minute

2. Add 2 cups marinara sauce (any kind of tomato sauce works)

3. Add spices and stir, let spices and sauce incorporate for a minute or two

4. Add the chickpeas, stir to combine, and let simmer until sauce thickens

5. Garnish with fresh cilantro and serve with bright green vegetable!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

