Skip to content

I Love the Internet and the Worst Kitchen Accident of my Life

May 6, 2010

The amount of time I spend browsing health blogs for new recipes, tips, ingredients, products, etc. is completely out of control. Luckily I only teach 10 hours a week so I’m able to indulge the habit…for now.  Seriously though, the information and ideas that are available are endless and I get inspired to try something new every single day. I’m adding more and more links on the blogroll so check ’em out, there are some great ones out there!! New favorite of the day: No Meat Athlete.

I also saw a link for 50 free online classes for food lovers on Serious Eats. FREE!! Amazing!! What would my life be like if I didn’t have a computer? Weird.

Awesome breakfast cookie this morning inspired by The Fitnessista. 1/2 cup raw rolled oats, tbsp cashew butter, 2 tbsp hemp protein, 1/2 mashed banana, cinnamon and a splash of apple juice all mixed together and refrigerated overnight. Topped with some St. Dalfour Wild Blueberry Jam.  So healthy I can’t even stand it.

Breakfast Cookie

I bought a huge pumpkin earlier in the week so that I could make some pumpkin butter, and decided to cook up a little bit for dinner with potatoes. I used a Mario Batali recipe: Zucca Gialla in Agrodolce. Instead of 1/2 c olive oil I used about 2 tbsp, and instead of 3 tbsp of honey I used maybe 1 tbsp and it was  SO good. Mario!!!!!

Pumpkin and Potatoes

And then there was the disaster: I wanted to have a really good nut butter/fruit grilled sandwich tomorrow morning, so I decided on a cashew butter and blueberry sandwich that I saw on Oh She Glows. I always try to get all the food groups in at breakfast, and I thought that pumpkin (as the vegetable) would go splendidly with Cashews and Blueberries. Simple pumpkin puree is a bit too liquid-y, so I thought I’d try my hand at making pumpkin butter. I found a great recipe here, which called for nuking a pumpkin in the microwave instead of stove-top. I haven’t used a microwave this entire year and haven’t missed it for a second. The texture of food is SO much better when you heat it on the stove or in the oven and after figuring that out, my microwave has been purely a storage mechanism.

Not too long ago, I got in the habit of heating water in the microwave for tea (don’t worry, I’ve gotten over it). So much more pleasant to just use a teapot or an electric kettle! Anyway, various people warned me that if you microwave water, a kind of seal will form at the top of the liquid and as soon as you puncture that liquid, you’ll have a scorching hot Old Faithful on your hands that could potentially melt your face off. Well, I microwaved the pumpkin, scooped out the resulting goop, blended it with cinnamon and brown sugar and was riding pretty high. Until I started to spoon the mixture into a pot. If you listened closely at around 7:00 AM EST you could probably hear the “HOLY F*************************K” heard round the world as my spoon went into the blender and pumpkin sprayed all over my kitchen, clothes, arms, hair and face. In all my years of oven burns from baking I don’t think I’ve ever been burnt that badly. And now there is pumpkin on my ceiling. Tip: DON’T LET THIS HAPPEN. If you ever blend something really hot (maybe for soup) definitely let it cool off before you do something you’ll regret.

On the plus side, the pumpkin butter was a total success:

Pumpkin Butter

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 6, 2010 4:43 pm

    I lOVE pumpkin butter!!! haha and gotta enjoy those bfast cookies

  2. May 6, 2010 6:49 pm

    lovely eats! and your photos are NOT that bad – you are way too hard on yourself 😉

  3. May 7, 2010 10:36 pm

    pumpkin butter…hmmmm..sounds interesting….tell me more!!

    • May 9, 2010 7:21 am

      so easy!! a great addition to oatmeal, pancakes, waffles, yogurt, and a good fat replacement in baked goods. easy way to get some veggies in!

Leave a Reply

