Skip to content

Shredding

May 10, 2010

Running around my city has gotten pretty dull (not to mention difficult with the pollution), so I’ve been focusing a lot more on strength training/toning. Not sure how that is going to affect the half marathon, but we’ll see soon enough! AHHH 5 days!!! Should I be more worried? Probably, but not much I can do now, eh?

30 Day Shred and P90X yoga have been wonderful to me. Workout DVDs are a new thing for me…sometimes I feel funny doing them, but the payoff is completely worth it.

Pre-Level 2 Shred Fuel:

Pumpkin Oatmeal Pancakes

EASY and wholesome recipe from Kath Eats. Topped with blueberry jam!

Post-level 2 shred:

Hemp Shake!

Frozen banana, 2 tbsp hemp, 1 c soymilk, cinnamon, 1 cup cubed melon. Makes you feel fantastic after a workout! I think my next protein purchase will be something chocolate or vanilla though, this one makes everything kind of taste like the earth, which isn’t a bad thing, but next up will definitely be Sun Warrior or Amazing Meal. What are some other favorites out there??

After a GRUELING day of teaching I needed something super fast and easy:

Rosemary Bean Burgers with Basil "Fried" Egg

It’s amazing how much fresh herbs really transform an otherwise boring dish. These were the easy bean burgers from yesterday’s post, an egg, hot sauce AND the fork that a student gave me for Christmas. Had to remind myself that my students aren’t always evil =).

Along with some frozen grapes which are AWESOME!!! I can’t believe I never had these before yesterday. I could eat a million of these…

Frozen Grapes

I didn’t take a picture, but for dessert/movie snack I actually threw these in a cup with peanuts and the TJ’s chocolate covered espresso beans that my sister just sent me(!!!). Love throwing random stuff in a glass and calling it trail mix.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 10, 2010 3:11 am

    I love The Shred. Last year when I had gotten in horrible shape I asked my parents to send me a workout DVD and they sent me the Shred. I remember the first time I tried it (about a year ago), doing level one and then not being able to walk up the stairs the next day. And then by Fall I was doing all three levels together! It definitely toned me up but my only issue with it is it doesn´t seem to be enough just by itself… great for toning but not enough calorie burn. But man, it can HURT!

    • May 10, 2010 6:16 am

      Yeah so awesome when you can feel each level getting easier!! And you’re right….20 minutes of Jillian does NOT equal hours of “phoning it in at the gym.”

  2. Michael permalink
    May 11, 2010 4:08 pm

    I have to say, that hemp shake looks really appetizing!

Leave a Reply

