Skip to content

That Was Incredible (Beijing Recap Part I)

May 17, 2010

I can’t believe the half marathon is over. I’ve been thinking about it for so long!! It was definitely the most physically demanding and rewarding thing I’ve ever done and to be honest I’m surprised I even made it through! Feeling pretty good right about now =).  Here’s a recap of the weekend:

Day 1: Pants, school, coffee, train

Cinnamon Raisin Banana Soft Serve with Oats

Started the adventure off right with a cozy breakfast (eaten mid MONSOON!!), followed by running around like a mad woman trying to pack and get all my work done for my TEFL certification.

I say PANTS because I randomly decided to try on my favorite pair of black skinny jeans. I was too afraid to put them on all year because I thought that they wouldn’t fit. I’m an idiot…they fit perfectly. YESSSSS. Is it crazy that my pants fitting normally put me in a fantastic mood all day?

Back to the day. I get the most work done in a coffee shop situation, which somehow came into my life here in ZhuZhou when they built a giant Japanese mall and added this heavenly little joint:

Rosa Coffee

You can even get iced coffee!! And it’s actually good! Way to go Rosa Coffee. After this I taught a ridiculous class on tongue twisters and at the end of the lesson my students forced me to show them the “Telephone” music video. I should be fired. My friend and fellow half-marathoner Katie sat in class with me, and when the bell rang we darted out into the insane amounts of rain and spent the rest of the night on a fancy overnight train.

Day 2: Beijing is amazing

We arrived at about 8 AM and immediately grabbed coffee. I’m usually not a Starbucks fan at home, but sitting around in comfy chairs and drinking out of a to go cup made me feel right at home. They even had Organic Vitasoy (soy milk) which is way creamier than the stuff I buy on the street in China. Mmm. Nutty. There were tons of random baked Chinese influenced goods like black bean muffins….cuttlefish cheese bread…black sesame green tea roll, but they all looked a little off. I figure if you’re gonna eat something Chinese you should get it from a CHINESE place right??

Taking Over the World

After refueling at Starbucks we picked up our half marathon packets and then walked around pretty aimlessly (which always leads to food sampling).

Yogurt + Fruit

Sarah learning how to eat a lychee

Lychee explosion

BUDDY!!!

Eventually we decided that we needed to eat real food and headed to San Li Tun, a giant, mostly Western bar street/mall.  My friend Diane recommended a restaurant she had been to in Shanghai called Element Fresh. All she had to say was “you would like it, it’s really healthy.” SOLD. We were overwhelmed with happiness and got some great day-before-race fuel.

Soy milk, PB, banana, protein powder, chocolate, and spirulina

Multigrain, tomato, avocado, carrots, cucumber, amazing.

AVOCADO!!!!!!!!! I can’t imagine how many of these I’m going to eat when I get back to the states. If they didn’t cost 5 dollars EACH in Beijing I might have bought some but I figured I can wait.

SALAD?????

After getting a taste of home and being beyond satisfied, we headed back to the hotel and went to bed……at 8 PM…..because we had to wake up at 2:30!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

To be continued…..

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

