Skip to content

An Early Morning, Ridiculous Students and a Pancake Dinner

May 19, 2010

I’ve been exhausted ever since coming back from Beijing and somehow I can’t seem to catch up on sleep. I figured that going to sleep by 11:00 PM and sleeping in would help things (especially since I have no work today!!) but sadly, my plan failed. I woke up at 5:00 AM with absolutely nothing planned for the the day besides cooking and yoga.

What else is there to do at 5 o’clock in the morning besides make pancakes, watch gossip girl and be sad over the demise of the hair straightener I’ve had for 6 years?? It somehow got a mind of it’s own and jumped off of a table! Anyway, apparently I’m super girly before the sun comes up =)

Pumpkin Oat Pancake with Pear and Honey

1/2 c rolled oats, 2 egg whites, huge spoonful of pumpkin butter, cinnamon, 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder, sliced pears and a drizzle of honey. Inspiration came from here: oatmeal pancakes.

SAD!!

I’m going to start a new little segment today called “Stories from School.” I realize that I only have 4 weeks left (!!!) but yesterday I realized that some of the insanity that goes on with my students really shouldn’t be left untold. I’ll start off with some short anecdotes from one of my classes yesterday.

Stories from School, Vol. 1.

Yesterday when class was about to begin, one of my students tapped me on the shoulder and said, “Sarah, if I were a boy would you marry me????”….keep in mind that many girls here in China, this one included, try to look like boys on purpose. OR their parents make them cut their hair short so that there are no “distractions” at school. Plus all of the students wear track outfits as their uniform so sometimes it’s really hard to tell!!

I really didn’t know how to answer, but luckily my attention was diverted by a BOY student yelling “SARAH!!!” I turned around to see what was going on, only to find him droppin’ it like it was hot, so to speak. Major booty poppin’. Utterly innapropriate, I was slightly horrified.

Later in class, my students convinced me to play the Justin Bieber music video “Baby” (class was almost over). These students BARELY speak English during class, yet they were able to sing along to the whole thing, and one girl almost had a Bieber induced heart attack. After class some girls asked me if I was in love with Justin Bieber, and when I said no, they said “Oh yeah you are so fashion (cool), you probably are in love with Edward (Twilight). ” Me: “Mmmhmmm, yes, Edward.” Girls: “OHHH HE IS SO HANDSOME!!!!!”

Just an average class with these innocent looking 12-year-olds:

One of my classes

Did I mention that I teach 13 classes, each of which have 60 students? Never a dull moment.

Later that night I invited the other female foreign teachers in my city (Zhuzhou) to a pancake/banana soft serve/random toppings dinner. Everyone here needs a break from Chinese food from time to time, so I figured that this would be a great way to catch up and cook for people other than me!

Ayy, I forgot to photograph a bunch of things!! Here’s what I was able to catch…

Oat Pumpkin Pancake, Banana Soft Serve, PB and Chocolate Pieces

Homemade PB and Pumpkin Butter

Honeycomb!!

I found this freshly made honeycomb on the street in Beijing. SO GOOD!

Honeycomb

Melted Dove Chocolate and Marshmallows

Banana.....Soft.....Serve

I made a MASSIVE amount of banana soft serve but sadly, I forgot to take a photo. Here’s what the bowl looked like at the end of dinner =).

I deemed this meal dinner AND dessert in one: healthy pumpkin pancakes (which had veggies from pumpkin and carrots, protein from eggs, and complex carbs from the wheat flour/oats) topped with bananas and natural pb. PLUS some chocolate, marshmallows and honeycomb for dessert.

Dinner, Chinese apartment style

For most of the pancakes I used a somewhat random recipe of 1 C wheat flour, 1 C oats, 2 eggs, 1 C soy milk, huge scoop of pumpkin butter, shredded carrots and cinnamon (plus the one serving of chocolate chips, pictured).

And with that I have a five day weekend. HOORAY!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2010 6:03 am

    How fun!!! Whenever we have parties and invite other Peace Corps volunteers, I always make a big batch of pancakes the next morning (people usually stay over because they have to travel from other towns and villages.) They are less healthy than yours–think plain, banana, or melty chocolate goo inside–but still get the job done. This looks awesome. It is so funny here too how everyone can sing every word to the Akon or MJ songs on the radio but then clam up immediately if I try to practice English with them!

  2. May 25, 2010 7:23 pm

    first of all, of course that hair straightener disaster would happen to you! but i am surprised i didn’t get to it first with my midas. and how do you not have bieber fever! ps- absolutely telling steph abt these pancakes, she is in LOVE with pancakes and french toast. you should’ve seen her drooling over an episode of ‘best food ever’ last night.

Leave a Reply

