Skip to content

No Power

May 21, 2010

By no power I don’t mean “Hmmm I feel pretty powerless today and need to take control,” I mean…I have no power, no electricity, everything is black.

This morning I woke up to find that my power was out. Not only that, but both of my computers were dead, my iPod was dead AND my phone had one bar left. At first I was freaking out and a little upset since most of my morning plans involved plugging something in and using it. That was until I realized that I needed to come up with something to eat immediately so I could rescue perishable items from the warming fridge:

Fitness Bread, Eggs & Monterey Jack

It was such an awesome way to think of something new to make! The only things that needed to be used were eggs, cheese (PRICEY cheese at that, since it’s only found at the ex pat store), and fitness bread, all of which melded into a perfect little rainy morning breakfast.  Good thing my gas was still on!!!

The only problem was that after I finished eating, I had no idea what to do. Usually I sit in bed for an hour or so reading blogs and writing emails (and maybe watching one of the 10 different TV shows I’ve become hooked on recently), but those things involve power. It seriously amazes me how much I rely on electricity to get anything done, and how much electricity I USE on any given day. SO instead of staring at the wall until it came back on, I decided to take a two hour walk outside. It felt great to walk in the rain, especially since my knee is still slightly injured from the half marathon and I can’t quite run yet. Plus I figured that by the time I got back it would be on again.

Nope. Hmmm what to do? Snack time.

Soy milk, Apple

Coffee, Soy milk

OK….then what…I felt like a crazy person! At home I would have plenty of things to do outside, but in my industrial Chinese city there isn’t much scenery to check out. Then I realized something glorious. Since I also couldn’t shower (no hot water), the perfect thing to do would be to go get a hair wash.

Hair wash in China: $2.50. 45 minute massage (including double shampoo and conditioning), blow out with hot beverage of choice included. AKA heaven on earth. I think that is one of the things I will miss most about life here. Can you believe what a steal that is???? How do they not charge more?

I came back happy as a clam, ate the slowly thawing frozen banana that was in my freezer, and as soon as I took the last bite the power came back on. Although I was overjoyed, I realized that having no power for a morning was a blessing in disguise: My appreciation for power has officially been renewed, and who knows how much time I would have wasted! I celebrated by making the PB that I had promised to make for my friend (who I’m staying with this weekend and has NEVER tasted natural PB before) and by doing a little P90X yoga. Hooray!!

Roasted and Salted

Mid-Blend

Warm and Melty

Best Batch Yet

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 21, 2010 9:23 pm

    It is amazing how much power we use! A two hour walk sounds great! And the 2.50 hair wash and massage sounds even better! wow!
    have a great weekend!

  2. May 22, 2010 8:30 am

    Welcome to my life! My electricity in Africa is horrible. Not surprising, I know. Honestly, one of the hardest reverse culture shocks for me is going to be having electricity that is on ALL THE TIME. So often I talk about things like “Maybe I will watch a movie. IF we have energy…” I will never take it for granted again! I hate being in the dark, but sometimes its relaxing to be forced to do nothing.

    • May 24, 2010 12:13 am

      Totally relaxing! I was pretty surprised. Reverse culture shocks are going to be so interesting, I can’t wait to see what sort of random things pop up that I never knew I would appreciate. And yours I’m sure will be times 100!!

  3. May 25, 2010 7:17 pm

    p90x yoga! love it. not gona lie, haven’t had time until now to read through all of this. i miss you! and this is the only blog i read bc u kno i am no bloghead.

Leave a Reply

