Skip to content

Adventures in Tofu

May 27, 2010

A few weeks ago I discovered a glorious stand near my apartment that serves DELICIOUS spicy griddled tofu. I was so inspired that I decided to do some experimenting with tofu on my own. I always fail at making tofu because I’m way too impatient to dry it out, and it always ends up being a huge, watery, crumbly mess.

I had put some tofu in the freezer a while ago (around the time when I had given up), and nuked it a little bit so that it would be soft enough to griddle. LOW and behold, the freezing pretty much took care of the watery problem!! I have no idea how, but all I know is that I took the tofu out of the freezer, put it in the microwave for 1 minute and threw it in a pan. Magic ensued.

Trial #1:

Garlic tofu over garlic cabbage. GARLIC!

For this meal I simply sautéed some cabbage and garlic, cooked the tofu in a pan with garlic powder and s&p. That’s it! Weird how it looks 100% like chicken.

Trial #2:

BUFFALO!!!!!!!!

This was so awesome. Sautéed snap peas with grilled tofu (marinated in LOUISIANA hot sauce that my mom sent me from the US, s&p, and garlic) topped with Monterey Jack (bought at the ex pat store). Heaven. This is my definitely new favorite thing to make. Yay!

Trial #3:

Bufallo tofu, brocolli, corn and BEPs

A few weeks back I was wandering around the grocery store, as I often do when I don’t have much going on, and I spotted BLACK EYED PEAS!! What??? I have never in my life seen black eyed peas in anything Chinese, so needless to say I was very very pleasantly surprised. I soaked them overnight, boiled them, and then sautéed them with corn and brocolli. And of course served them with my newfound obsession….buffalo tofu.

I feel like I’ve overcome some sort of “vegetarian test.” =)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Katie permalink
    May 27, 2010 12:27 pm

    The condenser in the freezer sucks the moisture out. Alsooo this has nothing to do with food BUT if you ever accidentally soak an important document or picture, instead of maybe hanging it up to dry or hitting it with a blowdryer, stick it in the freezer. Condensers are magical things apparently 🙂

  2. May 27, 2010 3:03 pm

    Mmm, all those recipes sound great! I have only tried tofu a couple of times. I am not an expert on making it though, it usually turns to mush when I try using it in a recipe.

    • May 27, 2010 6:58 pm

      Same here…every time! Putting it in the freezer totally helps though…or a tofu press because pressing it out with a towel never seems to be good enough. Mushy tofu is no fun for anyone =P

Leave a Reply

