Skip to content

Birthday Weekend

May 30, 2010

This Saturday I turned one year older and wiser. Woo! Time to celebrate!

I started the big day off right with an AWEsome smoothie:

Smoothie n' Oats

This smoothie was so delicious and I owe it to the raisins that I blended in along with 1 frozen banana, a huge scoop of steamed pumpkin, 1 cup of soy milk and a ton of cinnamon. All topped with 1/4 cup oats!

I learned the little trick of adding in raisins or dates (or some sort of sticky dried fruit) from a smoothie I had last year at Taim in NYC: Dates, lime, banana, cantaloupe and ginger. It gives the smoothie a chunky chewy factor that is fantastic.

Smoothie time was followed by a visit to the best hair salon ever to get my hair straightened. I broke my straightener a few weeks back and I figured it would be nice to never have to worry about it at all! Not sure how I feel about the chemicals but lets skip that for now. Here’s me with the my favorite hair dude, and one of the 5 coffees they brought me throughout the 4.5 hour process:

Hair Dude

Coffee

WOW my hair is super, super straight. I’m hoping it won’t look so intense after I wash it myself. We’ll see! This is the same hair shop where I get a 45 min massage, hair wash and blowout for $2.50. I WILL MISS YOU HAIR SALON!

After my friends and I finished up with our various hair doodads, we headed to Changsha, the big city in my province, to celebrate with all you can eat sushi/all you can drink sake. GOOD thing I didn’t know about this earlier, or I would have wanted to go every single weekend. Sorry for the less than ideal pictures, I didn’t have my SLR!

The Group

Sushi!!

Tempura, Etc.

The waitresses kept bringing out the most random dishes. For one price everything was included so we got to try a little bit of everything.

Fishies

MOCHI

Had WAY too many of these. I hate using the excuse “I can eat whatever I wan’t because it’s my bday,” but well, I ate whatever I wanted ‘cuz it was my bday =).

Yes.

My friend Katie brought beer goggles and crazy straws. Awwwwww yeah. Let’s just say the night continued to get more and more ridiculous. Two weekends in a row of debauchery…guess I’m making up for not drinking for practically an entire year! Don’t think I’ll be doing it again anytime soon though. Luckily the next morning I got to rehydrate and refresh myself with this huge cup of joy:

Fresh watermelon juice!

Totally recommend this to anyone that is feeling less than stellar in the morning. After chugging, a few of us headed to Subway (yes there is a SUBWAY in Changsha)….I kind of took a risk and ordered a salad due to mochi overload the night before, which ended up being a deconstructed veggie delite sub in a bowl:

That's honey mustard

Ugh, Subway kinda sucks huh. Scratch that, Subway salads suck. What was I thinking?! Always go for the sub.

After a long trip back I was STARVING. I was just going to make some huevos rancheros AKA scrambled eggs and kidney beans, but when I got to the grocery store I was super inspired to make something a little more interesting: Moroccan Veggies with Pumpkin Curry Sauce. Who knew vegetables could be so inspiring? Not sure why I’m calling this Moroccan…I guess because I threw raisins on top? Anyway….

Carrots, Cauliflower and Potatoes

Carrots, Cauliflower and Potatoes with Saffron, Basil, Onion, Garlic and S&P

So many spiceeeeeeeees

Pumpkin Curry Sauce

2 cups or so of soy milk, 2 huge scoops of steamed pumpkin, lots of curry powder and S&P. This could easily pass for a soup or a sauce. or a dip.

Veggies w/ Curry Sauce

Added some raisins for some sweetness/Moroccan-ness.

With an egg

Everything is better with an egg on top.

After dinner I didn’t have it in me to do Insanity, or P90X or The Shred, so instead I went for a 2.5 hour walk. The rain has finally stopped!!!!!!

I still can’t believe I got to eat sushi. That restaurant blew my mind! This was probably one of my top 5 favorite birthday weekends of all time and such a great way to start wrapping up time here in China. Maybe even top 3. What did you do for your favorite birthday??

3 Comments leave one →
  1. barbara permalink
    May 31, 2010 10:17 pm

    Your hair looks fantastic! I can’t believe how inexpensive the salon is!

  2. June 1, 2010 10:16 am

    Happy Birthday!!! This looks like SO much fun! My birthday is next Wednesday, I think I am… taking myself out to lunch. Ha. Birthdays in Africa tend to be lame… but I just figure that next year will have to be THAT MUCH BETTER to make up for it. And seriously, if you can’t say “screw it” to stupid calories on your birthday, when CAN you?!?! Eat everything you want! 🙂

    • June 1, 2010 8:04 pm

      Thanks!!! Yeah I usually have pretty low expectations for birthdays no matter where I am, but luckily all the foreigners in/near my city like an excuse to have a good time i.e. drink. However, for some reason I think one of the best parts of birthdays is doing something awesome for yourself like making something fantastic or taking yourself out to lunch! =)

Leave a Reply

