Skip to content

Cookie Cake

June 4, 2010

Last night I realized I had a huge stick of butter in my fridge (bought ages ago at the import store). I had eggs. I had flour. I had brown sugar. I had a tiny bit of baking powder. It was my friends birthday. She has a toaster oven.

Challenge: Put my pre-China baking obsession to the test and make a cookie cake for my friend’s (Sarah) birthday without a recipe.

I hope this works

I used to make blondies ALL the time back in college, so the recipe for that is pretty much solidified in my brain. I thought that maybe adding extra baking powder and flour would make it into a cake? Honestly I don’t even know the ratio of ingredients I threw together, I just kind of mixed stuff in until it seemed right. HmMmM.

While I was melting the butter something really bizarre happened: The smell of butter made me want to hurl. And then just tasting the batter made my stomach curl up and die. Guess living without butter for a year has made me totally grossed out by it, weird!

Anyway, I mixed together the ingredients, picked up some Dove chocolate pieces (they sell that here too), bussed it over to Sarah’s apartment and stuck everything in her toaster oven.

In the oven (with Dove chocolate)

After about 20 minutes:

Success??

Wooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Although it was slightly underdone due to my overwhelming fear of burning the first thing I’ve baked in a year, it looked like it was gonna be good. I stuck some candles it in and proceeded chat it up with a few friends in the room….only to find this mess 10 minutes later:

Shit...

Haha!! The cheapo Chinese candles MELTED into the cake. Don’t tell anyone, but a few other girls and I pulled out the candle wicks, rubbed the wax around with a spoon and brought it upstairs to share =). Ignorance is bliss, right??

On the roof

We sang happy birthday, ate cake on the roof, I had major giggles and all was well. It certainly wasn’t anything to be too proud of, but by the end of the night the pan was empty. China baking success!!!!!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Katie permalink
    June 5, 2010 12:39 am

    O.M.G.
    You would! Ha!

  2. June 5, 2010 9:32 am

    nice job!! 🙂 That looks like a darn good cookie cake for not having a recipe!!

Leave a Reply

