Skip to content

Non-Fancy Green and Orange Monsters?

June 7, 2010

Since I don’t have any fun ingredients like almond milk, good tasting protein powder (my hemp protein is disguustttoooo) or berries/cherries to make shakes a little more creative and interesting, for the past few weeks I’ve been experimenting with putting veggies in my smoothies or pancakes or oats. It’s almost like my own personal challenge to see what I can come up with.

CARROTS AND PUMPKINS ARE MY NEW BEST FRIENDS!! I guess this makes sense since they are the vegetable most commonly found in sweet dishes. Can’t wait until I can get my hands on some zucchini! Zucchini pancakes!!

Ready for the blenda

No idea what this is

Any ideas? It tastes like pumpkin, and smells like pumpkin, therefore it must be a pumpkin? Ideas? (edit: later on I found out it’s kabocha) Anyway it’s been GREAT in everything breakfasty.

With oats

My first green monster ever!! I think I should try adding some tofu (they have silky kind here) for some creaminess. Either way, this was pretty good!! What really makes veggies taste good in smoothies (when you aren’t adding anything chocolate, vanilla or berry) is CINNAMON. Too bad I completely ran out of cinnamon (and SEA SALT AHHH) and will have to tough things out for the next two weeks until I’m back in the US.

This morning I attempted a non cinnamon mixture: ORANGE MONSTER

Orange

So much orange went into this, not the fruit, just the color: 1 banana, 1 mango, 1/2 grated carrot and 1/2 cup pumpkin. Beta carotene maxed out. I guess this isn’t really a monster since it’s so small but I was afraid to add too much more due to lack of cinnamon. Ughhh I will never take that amazing spice for granted again.

Either way, fruit and veggie smoothie semi success!! I guess there are points in there for being 100% natural and mostly enzyme-y raw right? Ayy…My get home wishlist for powders and supplements or smoothies is out of control at this point..

*Update: Thanks to some helpful comments I found out that it is not pumpkin, but kabocha! YAY. That stuff is so low calorie and so delicious..I could eat it for days.

Massive rainstorm at school right now:

Thunder and Lightning!!!

Good thing it’s movie day =)

Ready to watch AVATAR

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 7, 2010 11:59 pm

    Could it be Kabocha Squash? (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kabocha) If so love it roasted!!

    • June 8, 2010 12:45 am

      I was thinking that but wasn’t totally sure, but I think you’re right! Thanks! That’s exciting since I see it on blogs all the time and have wanted to try it….guess I did it without even knowing. I wish I had an oven right now, roasted sounds amazing!

  2. June 8, 2010 1:13 am

    Is that…kabocha?? a.k.a. my favorite veggie on the planet? 😀

    My first taste of hemp protein powder was nasty too 😕 What brand was yours?

    • June 8, 2010 1:31 am

      YES! Thanks for the input =). I’m obsessed, it’s so good!

      My hemp protein is Nutiva, just the plain old natural hemp flavor. It overpowers everything! Hurl.

  3. June 8, 2010 8:34 am

    SO CUTE, your kids. I love seeing pictures. Reminds me how cute mozambican kids are… in pictures… when they are not asking me for money 🙂

    Jealous of your smoothies! No protein, blender, kabocha, okay I won´t go on, I will just live vicariously through you 🙂 isn´t it nice to know that someone is jealous of your variety in China?? haha. Hope the kiddos liked Avatar 🙂

  4. June 8, 2010 7:49 pm

    Oooh, an orange smoothie? Very creative indeed. The kabocha looks fab too, and I’d never have thought to put it in a smoothie until you mentioned that!

Leave a Reply

