Skip to content

Kabocha Induced Happiness

June 9, 2010

I have been in such a fantastic mood the past few days I can hardly stand myself. I even danced around my apartment this morning when I woke up at 6:30 AM. Can’t even handle what I was listening to enough to tell you. OK…it was Taylor Swift (guilty pleasure much?). What is making me so happy??

Is it the fact that I’m going home soon? Is it the fact that my students are being cute as hell recently? Is it the greatest workout ever aka Insanity? Is it the fact that I’m so good at ordering tea in Chinese (NO MILK NO SUGAR!!) that the tea shop owner thinks I’m actually GOOD at the language (which is hardly true)?

Is it my Kabocha obsession?????

Last Night (post Insanity):

Tofu Open Face

Pan sautéed tofu covered in curry powder, red peppers with tons of garlic, and steamed kabocha with cinnamon mixed in. Sprinkled with S&P. All together now:

Ready for the deliciousness

Cinnamon + Curry + Pepper + Kabocha = Heaven. Since I don’t have an oven I’ve been relying on Kabocha blobs which means a spoon full of this:

STEAMED Kabocha Blob

This Morning (post dancing):

Oat Pancake Mixture

1/2 c oats, 2 egg whites, baking powder, 1/4 c grated carrot, 1/2 diced mango, and (later) kabocha blob.

What's that??

Is that….cinnamon? YES!! My friend and fellow foreigner Jeff gave me a bit to use. I had given him one of my jars at the beginning of the year not knowing that I would plow through two containers of it in 10 months……

Carrot Cake Pancake

I got this idea from another blog but I can’t remember which!! I’ll update in a bit with the link.

Destroyed

Grossly overestimated my flipping abilities with such a hefty amount of fruits/veggies in there……luckily I was able to hide this beastly thing under some frozen banana slices. How amazing would this be with shredded coconut or coconut butter!?!?!

Frozen Banana-y

Are you sick of seeing my kabocha usage yet?? Me neither….

A few hours ago:

Eggplant, Peppers and Kabocha on some EGG WHITES!

Peppers and eggplant sautéed with S&P and garlic powder. Kabocha blob. 3 egg whites. I threw some last minute curry powder on there as well!

Destruction #2 (only the beginning, destruction got much worse)

This was friggen enormous. And delicious. I’m out of kabocha pictures for now but I’m sure there will be more soon. You can put it in anything!!

China fact of the day: In China, if you miss a day of work or school for a national holiday, or for any reason whatsoever, you have to make it up on the weekends. Bizarro? Next week is the Dragon Boat Festival, which means we get three days off, which also means that we have school for the next two weekENDS! My last two weekends in China! Imagine if we had to have school on the weekend after Thanksgiving??

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Katherine: What About Summer? permalink
    June 9, 2010 1:04 pm

    I’m following your post title and looking for happiness in kambucha drink tonight; you say kabocha I say kambucha- it’ll all work out
    Katherine

  2. June 10, 2010 12:20 am

    School on the weekend?? Insanity (hah, get it? 😉 ) K no more corny jokes

    The carrot cake pancake looks delish!

Leave a Reply

