Skip to content

I’m a Teacher?

June 10, 2010

Two students just came into my office while I was hysterically laughing watching Ali G and eating ice cream. For some reason I get really weirded out when students see me eating ice cream because I feel like it makes them see me as one of their own (which is never a good thing in the behaving-well-in class department). Maybe that’s just in my head? Anyway, I had never felt like LESS of a teacher. That was until they brought me this:

HUGE mango

Not quite as symbolic as an apple, but close enough. =)

What up!

They came in to discuss what movie they would be watching later. 17 Again? High School Musical? Alice in Wonderland? Hopefully they won’t decide on Alice in Wonderland because I’ve already shown it to 5 different classes (which means I’ve seen the first 40 minutes 5 times now).

This morning's class, post-Alice in Wonderland

In other teacher news, about 5 minutes ago two students came into my office and asked if they could sing me a song. The song ended up being “DANGEROUS” by Michael Jackson: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uS6x9wgswNw&feature=related

Awk.

It was supremely awkward but very very adorable. After they finished they ended up staring at me while I finished up some work, because they were too nervous to try to speak to me in English. Then they asked if they could sing again, so I said of course and got a taste of “Dangerous,” round 2.

Never a dull moment. All this and it’s only lunch time! I have an English singing competition to judge later today so that should be interesting =).

Onto food stuff…I was very inspired by a post at Health.com by Tina of Carrots ‘N’ Cake about eating more protein. My meals recently haven’t been holding me over as long as they used to (back in college/back in the US) and I haven’t really been sure why. I guess I’ve been focusing A LOT on fruits and veggies, and since becoming a vegetarian I really don’t think about protein enough….especially when my only options in China are tofu, beans and nuts.

Sure enough…today I packed my breakfast with protein and some fat and 5 hours later I’m still not really hungry (ice cream was purely to please my taste buds). Not to mention the fact that added protein will definitely support my nighttime Insanity workouts and my morning weight training.

Protein, Fruits, Veggies, Fat

Cinnamon sugar glazed tofu with: microwaved cinnamon apples, a kabocha blob and a tablespoon of SUPER chunky PB (since my blender broke half way through making it).

I just cut the tofu into squares, coated the squares with cinnamon and some brown sugar, and cooked them in a pan for a few minutes. Easy! The rest is pretty self explanatory although next time I think I’ll cook the apples in a pan since microwaves tend to make food suck more often than not.

Tofu, hiding

Off to class!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 10, 2010 11:05 am

    Ah LOL mango twins šŸ™‚

  2. June 10, 2010 12:50 pm

    Yay for more protein! I have noticed such a difference in my satiety and energy since I’ve upped mine. Your cinnamon tofu looks awesome!

    Have a great day!

  3. Rachie permalink
    June 11, 2010 10:43 am

    leaving a fruit?!?! Singing a song?!?! you’re the best no matter how much protein you eat.

Leave a Reply

