Skip to content

Chinese Food and Anatomy Lessons

June 13, 2010

So the other day I came up with a strategy to not over eat and feel too full at Chinese restaurants. Well, last night my friends and I had a huge last dinner/karaoke outing together (since some people are heading back to the US soon) and instead of sticking to my plan like I should have, I ate my ass off. DAMN you MSG. Anyway, here’s a look at some authentic Chinese food!

Bucket o' Rice

Some of my favorite Chinese dishes:

Eggplant and Green Beans

Steamed Pumpkin

Bowl of Perfection

Glass Noodles and Cabbage (with fried eggs hiding on the bottom)

Cauliflower

Random Green Stuff

Here’s some of the meaty-ness that I skipped over:

Pork and Peppers

Since everything in China is cooked in animal fat anyway, I DID eat some of the peppers out of here which were INSANELY hot. It didn’t hit me until after a few mouthfuls and my mouth was seriously on fire. HOLY HELL. I don’t think I mentioned that Hunan Province (where I live) is famous for super super spicy food. mMMm.

Sweet and Sour Chicken

Fish and Tofu

Beef Dish (somewhat fajita like), Fish and S&S Chicken

Empty Rice

I’m somewhat pleased that I was able to get over my fear of Chinese food for one night and just not care. Felt kind of nice to not stress out about it. I’m also glad I’m getting the chance to show you some authentic Chinese food!

One of the highlights of dinner was our discussion of the English language and balls. Yeah, those kinda balls. It started with us saying “it’s hot as balls in here,” which led to us talking about how English is crazy interesting since you can really make up anything you want and native speakers will probably understand you (i.e. adding -y to the end of words, adding sky as in napsky, making up ridiculous curse words, etc.), which THEN back to us talking about balls and trying to get the Chinese people to tell us how to say it in Chinese. We’re 12 =).

My friend trying to describe balls to the Chinese people:

Anatomy Lesson

Our Chinese friends were beyond embarrassed. Mostly because where I live in China, people aren’t very open about sex and or/sexuality. Which made seeing this at the karaoke place super random:

What?

Ha I was completely amazed (and I promise we WERE at a karaoke place)! I have no idea why this was at a karaoke bar…Hmmm…China can be so random sometimes =).

Massive Private Karaoke Room!

Amazing selection of songs…

I think I need to be better about actually being in pictures. I never have any pictures of myself!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 13, 2010 4:41 pm

    Hi! Came across your blog via a comment of yours on Angela’s Oh She Glows and OMG! O_O I’m addicted! I just spent an hour mulling over your fabulous posts and pictures and I need to get back to working on some posts for my own blog but~ I will be spending much time here!! :p

    • June 14, 2010 2:12 am

      Yay!! Thanks so much! BTW I love the fashion aspect of your site, I was considering adding some into mine too and now I’m completely inspired =)

      • July 8, 2010 11:11 pm

        You’re too too kind! 😀 I’d love to see what kind of styleized musings tickle your fancy, Sarah!

  2. June 13, 2010 9:54 pm

    Hahah! What a great post!

    Chinese food is so tasty, but kills me the next day! What a fun night out 🙂

    XXOO

  3. June 14, 2010 4:55 am

    Awesome post dude. I loved the discussion you were talking about. Here, English rap music is super popular so being asked “teacher, what does it mean ´to holla´?” is a pretty normal question. and that is just the PG rated ones! Damn American rappers for making us have very inappropriate conversations in a second language…

    The slang is funny in other languages too. I am definitely guilty of using the “balls” expressions, but here we have our own. In Portuguese, “tomate” is tomato, but “tomates” are testicles. Seriously. How many times have I accidentally requested 2 or 4 testicles at the market? Or a bolo is a cake, or pretty much any sweet bread, and a bolinho is a little cake… or a little penis. I have ordered a TON of those, too…

Leave a Reply

