Skip to content

Killing Time

June 14, 2010

Well, turns out that time does NOT fly when you’re waiting to pack and go back to your home country after being in the strangest of lands for 11 months. I’m driving myself nuts with nothing to do and with planning everything that I want to do when I get back! I’d reproduce my list here, but that would just ruin any and all surprises now wouldn’t it? =)

Very excited though, my new Nikes arrived safe and sound at my mom’s house in Northern CA…..funny that they were made and shipped not too far from me in China…GOOD thing they’re ready for me because the things that I’ve been wearing on my feet for Insanity the past two weeks barely resemble shoes anymore.

So instead of rambling on about going here, or here, or making some of these, I’ll post an AWESOME dish that I made tonight. A while back I made Pad Thai, which was loosely based on this version from NYTimes (it had to be China-fied) and inspired by my trip to Thailand. I still have tons of leftover ingredients that I need to use up! The Pad Thai sauce seemed like it would be excellent as a marinade/glaze, so I threw it on some tofu, cooked up some bok choy and was very very pleased with the Thailand meets China outcome.

Pad Thai, China Style

Pad Thai Style Tofu (makes 4 servings):

1/4 cup oyster or fish sauce (I used oyster)

2 tablespoons vinegar (I used apple cider, but rice vinegar would be better)

2 heaping tablespoons brown sugar (honey also works here…about 1/3 C)

8 quarter inch blocks of firm and pressed tofu

1 tablespoon red pepper flakes

1/2 cup chopped peanuts

1/4 cup Chinese chives or scallions

8 heads of baby Bok Choy

1. Add oyster/fish sauce, vinegar and brown sugar or honey to a small sauce pan and stir over low heat until it thickens slightly and sugar has melted.

2. In a sprayed or oiled pan on medium heat, add the tofu blocks 2 at a time and cook on each side for 1 minute, then spoon or brush sauce  over tofu (1 tbsp per side) and cook on each side for another 1-2 minutes.

4. Serve over steamed bok choy or any leafy green, and garnish with red pepper flakes, chopped peanuts and chopped chives/scallions.

Delish!!!

Days until CA: 7

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 14, 2010 11:26 am

    The pad Thai looks really good 😀 I’ve been to Asian markets & purchased tofu & I must say that it blows the U.S. tofu out of the water!

Trackbacks

  1. i like pad thai, i like tofu, so gimme some goddammned pad tofu | fuckin' good food

Leave a Reply

