Skip to content

Matilda

November 1, 2010

Not so good iPhone shot Part I

Cleanse: after a weekend, er, months of debauchery, today calls for some massive juice flushing (gross?). This stuff is divine and Liquiteria owns a little piece of my heart.

Mr. Green: carrot, apple, beet, ginger, green superfood (spirulina, blue-green algae, chlorella, oat/barley/wheat grass) & liver-kidney detox (burdock, yellow dock and oregon grape roots, dandelion, red clover blossom, nettles, red root & ginger). Delish!

Wait, what? I’m TORN: http://gawker.com/5675624/juice-cleanses-the-truth-is-out-there

Ok so maybe the juice is just a placebo, but hey, it made me feel good and clean and revitalized so $15.00 later in juice, I’m a happy camper…….PLUS I followed it up with this wholesome goodness which I highly reccomend:

Hummus and cucumbers from Sahadi’s in Brooklyn. Heaven on Earth and a great place to buy nuts in bulk (thanks Laura!).

OH yeah, reason for the juicing in the first place, I made this cake weekend (as well as lemon bars and chocolate chip cookies from Ad Hoc At Home). I’m calling it the Matilda cake….

 

Not so good iPhone shot part II

The recipe is adapted from Smitten Kitchen and by adapted I mean I didn’t have enough sugar so I used 3 cups white sugar and half a cup brown sugar, AND I didn’t have enough buttermilk so i added a few extra tablespoons of oil. Good thing cakes, unlike cookies, aren’t so sensitive to the ebbs and flows of molecular gastronomy. Turned out great and HUGE (and all organic!!). The frosting is a simple ganache (not the one from Smitten Kitchen) made with organic heavy cream and dark chocolate disks from Jacques Torres: Put cream over medium-low heat until it begins to simmer. Before it boils, pour it over 16 oz of chocolate (any kind depending on how sweet you want it). Let chocolate and cream sit for 1-2 minutes, and then stir until it looks like gooey ganache.

what up.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

